Vendor Shout-Out! Jen Treadway from Sterler Productions

download

Following up on our vendor shout-out about Craig Sterler, Sterler Productions has another team member we should learn a little about. Meet Jennifer Treadway!

JT

What does your company do and what makes it different than others like it?

Sterler Productions takes the time to  get to know the customer and their needs. We present create audio visual, technologies and event design solutions  based on the clients wants and needs. We are quality driven company and believe in doing it right the first time. This mentality is twofold: we choose quality clients to work with because we produce high function and quality events.

 

What lead you to your current career and how long have you been in the field?

My experience in the event industry has been in bridal, hotel and hospitality ranging over 20 years. At the age of 17 the first large convention I assisted in planning was the National Archdiocese and Catholic Youth Conference, held at the Indiana Convention Center and Hoosier Dome attended by 22,000 teens and adults. The experience of planning all the pieces of the event such as starting with the theme,  logistics, the marketing, the seminars, the speakers, music, the food and seeing them come together not to mention the spiritual experience as well, I knew then this is what I wanted to do for a living.

My main focus was really bridal and evening wear design. I obtained my associates degree in Fashion Design and Merchandising at the Louisville Technical Institute (formerly known as Spenserian a Sullivan College).  Amelia’s Original’s was the first designer I worked under and it gave me the most experience in my young 20 year old life. Amelia and I planned even’s starting with engagement parties,  to designing and making pageant and bridal gowns, to planning the wedding, reception and the honeymoon destination.  I assisted and directed Amelia and Susan from the White Hall Mansion in Louisville in a Bridal Show where the Best of Best vendors in Louisville.

Shortly after moving to Indianapolis I worked for General Hotels at several of the properties in both the Sales and Catering Department. Later I worked with Antonio Fermin designer, Saks Fifth Avenue Bridal, Director of Catering for Meridian Hills, outside sales for PTR,  Alfred Angelo bridal store manager  and was a regional trainer and assisted in the development of Jos A Banks tuxedo rental website.  I took a little break from the event world to raise my daughter, Carmen, the youngest of 4 boys: Gray, Sam , Jack and Jacob.

I came to Sterler Production a year ago after taking a break from the industry and raising my daughter till she began school full time. I was looking for something I could get my feet wet and work part -time. Craig needed a sales and marketing team it has been a great fit for both of us.

 

What is your most memorable event at FORUM?  Why?

My first PWG luncheon when I started working for Sterler Production, I first met Sarah Sparks, she gave warm friendly service. I love the contemporary feel of the venue with cocktails in the main atrium and moved into FORUM A with a wonderful lunch from Food Guys.  As an event designer, I looked at FORUM as a blank canvas with good bone structure. I was excited about how Sterler Productions could help optimize the sound and projection on the bulk head. Sarah, Rachelle, Paige, Jim, Craig and I met several times to discuss options for FORUM.  This began a great partnership.

 

What is one thing people do not know about you or your company?

At a young age I always believed in working for the best or being the best you can be.  A quote from my High School principal Charles Hurley “Nothing But the Best” has stuck with me and I believe in this.  I having been working to obtain my Bachelors in Graphic Design with the Art Institute of  Pittsburgh online and will graduate in 2017.  Don’t give up on yourself or your dreams.

Sterler Productions has allowed me to get me feet back in the water, both in the corporate sales and in design. I love meeting new people and building lasting relationships as much as taking my creative  energy and putting it to work.  I believe given the opportunity we can produce the Best Events in Indianapolis.

 

What are the current  event trends you are seeing?

A lot of meeting planners or executive assistants are attempting to be the everything and challenged with delegation. Such as handling the webinars, power points and videos, microphones and multiple screens . A lot of great tools are out there for us to use for our meetings, but when putting it on a big  or medium platform, it is important to recognize that technical assistance might be needed.

On the wedding scene, I am seeing more  South Asian weddings in the Indianapolis area that have 300-500 people attending. The FORUM  Events Center is perfect for a ceremony or reception with plenty of room for lavish décor and large celebrations.

A traditional wedding and reception for the Indianapolis area attendees are beginning to shrink and become more intimate, with 150-300 attendees. The FORUM Event Center is perfect for both types of weddings and receptions with the smaller to medium weddings.

 

Anything else you would like us readers to know about you or your company?

Sterler Productions will listen, watch,  plan and execute your major meeting or social event. The technicality of the  production will be handled professionally and in a timely manner. Craig puts his name on it and I put my reputation with quality and experience backing the brand. We look forward to working with you in the very near future.

 

Thanks for joining us today! Want more vendor shout-outs? Make sure to check out our posts about Chris LaMar, Jamie Wainio, Joel Nowacki, and Amanda Wood!

Until Next Time,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

